top of page

Getting started is always the hardest


Getting started is always the hardest thing to do. I received an email from my friend in California for marathons for the blind in the State. I want to do something so big as this but I have not even ran my first one yet. My first 5k is literally around the corner and I have been invited with The Ohio State School for the Blind to participate in their 5K as well.

I need to get my butt in gear and train. Ohio weather has been crazy and I have no running partner other than Roxy. Let me stop. Those are excuses, I have great walking/running trails in my neighborhood and Roxy and I walk to and fro my job all the time. So I can do this!

My goal is to start next week. I need to start with the 80/20 rule. Walk briskly for 80 percent of my rain and try to run 20 percent of it.

I have a gym membership that I only used once, so I can grab a Uber and run on the treadmill if the weather is bad. Enough of the excuses, I got to get my butt in gear.

Any tips fellow runners what to give? Please leave a comment below. I need the pep talk, motivation and help!


bottom of page