top of page

Gaining that pandemic weight

Since 2020 being shut in the house I just cannot be as active as I was. Before the no contact/six feet about rule, I was always outside. It was either walking everywhere, going to the movies, dinner or hanging out with friends. Who was with me as well? Roxy:)


So yes, I gained some weight but my guide dog as as well! And now that the country is opening back up I realized several things from us being in the house all the time.


I am so happy that I maintained her obedience training at home


Roxy is like me. If you don't use your education you will inevitably forget it. That is very important for a guide dogs. Blind schools spend 1000.00's of dollars in training and for me to not maintain those commands at home will be a disservice to her and me. So everyday I would go over her commands and obedience to keep her mind sharp and engaged. So that when we we go back to the outside world when I give the command find the curb, she is not looking at me like what?


The harness


Roxy gained 15 pounds!! For labs that is not good at all to have excess weight on their joints and hips but also the harness we use for her to guide me. There is no sucking it in! It is very important that the harness is fitted properly and comfortable for my Rockstar. So until she loses the weight, mu husband made a 100 percent leather extender that goes under her belly so I am comfortable with the grip and Roxy is more importantly comfortable working and wearing her harness. Plus even through I did not use the harness much during quarantine, I still had her wear it so she was still used to it.


Back on our fitness focus


The many treats, excess food and lack of exercise is no more! I have changed Roxy;s food to sensitive stomach/skin/weight loss focused. Always consult your vet before putting your furry loved one on any type of diet. With my vets guidance Roxy is eating twice a day a cup per meal. And during the


weekend she has one treat for that week that I let her pick out at her favorite pet food store. Exercise has definitely increased. We walk outside everyday for at least 30 minutes and she is working again in her harness when I go to the store. So in a few months we both will be back trim and fit:)



bottom of page